Jun 27, 2022  
2014-2015 Undergraduate Bulletin 
2014-2015 Undergraduate Bulletin [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Department of Speech-Language Pathology

Department Chair: Joy Townsend, Interim

Speech-Language Pathology Faculty

Professors: Marie Byrne, Michelle Harmon
Instructors: Donna Burlingame, Lynn M. Hanson, Joy Townsend

Purpose Statement

The purpose of the speech-language pathology undergraduate program is to provide students with a basic understanding of normal and disordered communication as preparation for entrance into graduate school. The program requires majors to have a scientific knowledge base for good decision making skills.


The Master’s education program in Speech-Language Pathology at Mississippi University for Women is accredited by the Council on Academic Accreditation in Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology (CAA) of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association, 2200 Research Boulevard #310, Rockville Maryland 20850. 800-498-2071 or 301-296-5700.


The programs are taught in Cromwell Communication Center, the MUW Speech and Hearing Center, and various clinical sites in health care facilities and schools.